Saturday, September 28, 2013

Huanchaco World Surfing Reserve

Noticia en Español Click Aquí

On October 26, 2013 the community of Huanchaco will be enshrined as the world’s fifth World Surfing Reserve, and the first World Surfing Reserve in Latin America.


In addition to formally recognizing Huanchaco for it’s outstanding wave quality, unique environmental characteristics, surfing heritage, and community support – the cornerstone of the World Surfing Reserve program is it’s emphasis on locally-led coastal conservation efforts.

Save The Waves Coalition works alongside each new World Surfing Reserve to develop a Reserve Stewardship Plan; a strategic plan for identifying the local World Surfing Reserve goals, primary threats to those goals, the root causes of those threats, and concrete steps for mitigating those threats.

The Reserve Stewardship Plan is co-developed by the Local Stewardship Council, which oversees the Reserve management. This group is comprised of local surfers, environmentalists, local government officials, and business leaders. Developing the Reserve Stewardship Plan together builds consensus on future conservation efforts that they can enact to protect their prestigious World Surfing Reserve.

The result is a clear conservation framework developed by the local community in partnership with Save The Waves Coalition to guide their efforts and achieve measurable coastal conservation outcomes.

About the International Surfing Association
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running the Open Division World Championship since 1964, the World Junior Surfing Championship since 1980, the World Masters Surfing Championship since 2007, the World Bodyboard Championship since 2011, the Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival in China, and the World Standup Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Championship beginning in 2012. The ISA also sanctions the World Kneeboard Titles and the World Tandem Surfing Championship, and will launch the World Longboard Championship in 2013. ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 75 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since. The ISA’s four Vice-Presidents are Alan Atkins (AUS), Karín Sierralta (PER), Debbie Beacham (USA) and Layne Beachley (AUS).

More on