Thursday, September 19, 2013


Noticia en Español Click Aquí

The World’s Best Longboarders From 22 Countries Have Gathered In Historic Huanchaco, Peru, Where They Will Compete for Gold


A total of 22 countries are confirmed to compete at the world-class, left pointbreak in Huanchaco, Peru for the ISA World Longboard Championship. Photo: Rommel Gonzales

As we approach the start of the ISA World Longboard Championship, most of the participating National Delegations have announced their teams.

A total of 22 countries are confirmed to compete at the world-class, left pointbreak in Huanchaco, Peru. Longboarding has traditionally been included in the ISA World Surfing Games since 1988, but due to the growing popularity of this discipline, the ISA will present its first stand-alone World Longboard Championship.

Each National Team consists of up to 2 Open Men, 1 Open Women and 1 Junior Under-18, plus Team Officials.

The confirmed countries are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, France, Great Britain, Hawaii, Italy, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Panama, Peru, Portugal, Puerto Rico, South Africa, Uruguay, USA, and Venezuela.


The Urcia family, who have been living in Huanchaco as fishermen for generations, demonstrate how to build the traditional “Caballito de Totora. It was here, in Huanchaco, 4,000 years ago, when the Chimu’s, a pre-hispanic culture, first used the reed boats for fishing and riding waves. Fishermen in Huanchaco are still using the vessel today. Juninho Urcia (right) is a 5-time ISA Scholarship Program recipient, which helped him become Peru’s youngest National Champion and an ISA Gold Medallist.Photo: ISA/Michael Tweddle

“Expectation is building in anticipation of the ISA World Longboard Championship with only a few days to go before the Opening Ceremony. All Teams have been announced and the athletes have begun to arrive in the historic northern Peruvian town of Huanchaco, known as the cradle of surfing in Latin America. It was here, in Huanchaco, 4,000 years ago, when Peruvian fishermen invented the Caballito de Totora, which is still the vessel being used by Huanchaco’s fishermen today,” remarked ISA President Fernando Aguerre.

The ISA President continued, “Peru is known for its ideal surfing conditions with consistent swell and great weather. The surfers will be practicing on the long lefts in preparation for the World Championship. Surf in the head high to overhead range is expected for the start of the competition. As I like to remind all athletes, even though only some of the competitors will win medals, they are all champions, having competed for their countries as members of their National Surfing Teams.”


Fishing on the “Caballitos de Totora.” Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

Below is a full list of the confirmed teams. Please note team registration closes on Saturday and team lists are subject to change. The final list will be found on at the close of registration.

Martin Perez (Open Men)
Daniel Gil (Open Men)
Mary T. Gil (Open Women)
Surfiel Gil (Junior U-18)

Jared Neal(Open Men)
Ian Bell(Open Men)
Georgia Young (Open Women)
William Crowe (Junior U-18)

Geraldo C Lemos Neto (Open Men)
Phil Rajzman (Open Men)
Atalanta Nascimento (Open Women)
Caio Felipe de Santana Santos (Junior U-18)

Tamaya Lola Laurena Anais Mignot (Open Junior, Open Women)

Mauricio Aguirre (Open Men)
Belko Suarez (Open Men)

Costa Rica
Anthony Mesen Flores (Open Men)
Alex Gomez Diaz (Open Men)

Isidro Villao (Open Men
Danny Flores  (Open Men
Michelle Soriano (Open Women)
Romano Rubilova (Open Junior)

Antonie Delpero (Open Men)
Edouard Delpero (Open Men)
Justine Dupont (Open Women)
Martin Coret (Junior U-18)

Great Britain
Adam Griffiths (Open Men)
Ben Skinner (Open Men)
Claire Smail (Open Women)
Ben Bates (Junior U-18)

Kai Sallas (Open Men)
Ned Snow (Open Men)
Megan Godinez (Open Women)
Honolua Blomfield (Junior U-18)

Alessandro De Martini (Open Men)
Camilla Michetti (Open Women)

Yuki Nakayama (Open Men)
Kinihiko Nishizaki (Open Men)
Shiho Okazawa

To be confirmed

New Zealand
Antony McColl (Open Men)
Zen Wallis (Open Men)
Belinda Goodwin (Open Women)
Jordan Griffin (Junior U-18)

Alan Barnes (Open Men)

To be confirmed

Luis Bento (Open Men)

Puerto Rico
Guaili Ramirez (Open Men)
Fernando L. Guzman Hau (Open Men)
Marien Blanco (Open Women)

South Africa
Thomas King (Open Men)
Jusin Bing (Open Men)
Simone Robb (Open Women)
Ethan Pentz (Junior U-18)

Antonio Pita (Open Men)
Gonzalo Eiris (Open Men)
Julian Schweizer (Junior U-18)

Taylor Jensen (Open Men)
Tony Silvagni (Open Men)
Rachael Tilly  (Open Women)
Nick Anderberg (Junior U-18)

Francisco Hernandez (Open Men)
Jean Carlos Flores (Open Men)
Adriana Gamero (Open Women)
Yoyssis Delgado (Junior U-18)

About the International Surfing Association
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running the Open Division World Championship since 1964, the World Junior Surfing Championship since 1980, the World Masters Surfing Championship since 2007, the World Bodyboard Championship since 2011, the Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival in China, and the World Standup Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Championship beginning in 2012. The ISA also sanctions the World Kneeboard Titles and the World Tandem Surfing Championship, and will launch the World Longboard Championship in 2013. ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 75 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since. The ISA’s four Vice-Presidents are Alan Atkins (AUS), Karín Sierralta (PER), Debbie Beacham (USA) and Layne Beachley (AUS).

More on